Skip to content

California’s Sonoma Coast

May 3, 2013

IMG 0310

If you have been reading my Posts for very long you have gotten the idea that I love the beach…the ocean.

IMG 0312

California’s coastline is easily recognizable having been filmed in so many movies & television shows.

IMG 0316

It is breathtaking, even on a windy (very windy), chilly (very chilly) day.

IMG 0319

The signs along the beach remind visitors to not turn their backs on the water because of the potential for rogue waves.

IMG 1233
This wave got me…it rolled up the beach farther than I expected, so I had wet feet for the rest of the day.

IMG 0325

IMG 0320

IMG 1232

The birds stayed on the ground & I guess this is seaweed of some variety.

IMG 0326

IMG 0329

IMG 0333

While trying to catch a wave as it splashed up the side of the rock face I noticed something in the water.

IMG 1234

IMG 0338

At first I thought it was a buoy, but then realized it was a sea lion.

IMG 0339

Of course, it didn’t stick it’s entire head out of the water until I put the camera down. :0(

IMG 0340

IMG 0342

IMG 0343

IMG 0345

If you have the opportunity, drive the Pacific Coast Highway from San Francisco up to Mendocino. Your cell phone will be without reception (that’s reason enough!) & the scenery is beautiful.

IMG 0352

4 Comments
  1. May 3, 2013 4:30 am

    Beautiful! Thanks for sharing, I wish that I will one day have tha chance to see the Pacific Ocean!

    • May 3, 2013 4:33 am

      These plants on the last photu also grows on our coastline, and is ideal to wipe on your skin when you get stung by a bluebottle (Portuguese Man o’War?)

      • May 3, 2013 8:23 am

        DH & I wondered what these flowers were. They had succulent-type leaves like aloe vera & the flowers looked like water lilies. Glad to know the good Lord placed them where they could be used if needed!

  2. Gayle Moody permalink
    May 3, 2013 8:17 am

    Love these. I could look at the ocean all day. Your photos are great–nice composition.

Comments are closed.

