Skip to content

Rant: Smoking In San Francisco

May 16, 2013

This is the final San Francisco post. Yeah, I’m glad, too.

IMG 0463

Walking the streets of San Francisco in the Union Square area, DH & I were shocked that almost all the young people had cigarettes hanging out of their mouths.

I have a question – did the young people of San Francisco, particularly the young Asians not get the memo that smoking cigarettes is bad for one’s health? Not only does it cause severe lung disease & exacerbate heart disease, but it increases the risk of EVERY CANCER! NOT JUST LUNG CANCER – EVERY SINGLE CANCER!

Is this a cultural thing of which I am unaware? Has there been new research proving that the studies of the past 80 years are wrong?

IMG 0464

Now, let me say that I am all about freedom. You have the right to do anything you jolly well want to as long as what you do doesn’t impede my freedoms. Whoops! That’s the problem! Because of ObamaCare, I now have to pay for the healthcare for all these stupid young people who are choosing to participate in a very risky lifestyle, proven to be excessively risky because of the absolute certainty of disease as a result of this lifestyle.

I have no problem if you want to smoke, as long as I don’t have to breathe your smoke. But I resent having to pay for your healthcare!

IMG 0063

I have made a personal choice to stay physically fit, eat an organic/grass-fed diet & do my best to stay as healthy as possible. Why should I have to pay for people who by their actions, by their very own choices are going to be a burden on society?

Nope, no photos of the smokers – ICK!

Comments are closed.

