Skip to content

Excuses & T’s Southern Cornbread

September 12, 2013

I haven’t written much of late. Excuses: It’s been a busy summer. I have gotten out of the habit of carrying my camera with me. I have been helping DH get his consulting business of the ground including developing a website.
Even worse, I haven’t done my writing on my book. #1 Son asks every time he calls, “Have you worked on your book?” My sheepish reply, “No. But I’ve been busy.” “No excuses!”
He’s right. But I still haven’t done any writing – on my blog Posts or on my book.
I could promise to sit down daily and trudge through what I have already written, edit it, get excited again about telling this story, this true story…but alas, it would be a piecrust – easily broken…
Instead I will attempt to pacify you with a recipe. My own recipe for Southern Cornbread. A friend asked me to share it a couple of months ago, so here it is. Hope you enjoy it!

Still life

T’s Southern Cornbread

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups Cornmeal (not cornmeal mix)
  • 1 Tablespoon Baking Powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon Sea Salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 cup Buttermilk
  • 1/4 cup plus 2-4 Tablespoons melted Unsalted Butter, Lard or Coconut Oil
  • 1 teaspoon Cornmeal

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Stir together cornmeal, baking powder, soda & salt.
  3. Add eggs, buttermilk & melted fat.
  4. Beat just until smooth by hand or 1 minute with an electric mixer.
  5. Heat a seasoned 10-inch iron skillet on the cooktop over medium-high heat, adding enough butter, lard or coconut oil to cover the bottom of the pan.
  6. Sprinkle cornmeal over hot fat in bottom of skillet; remove from heat.
  7. Pour cornbread batter into hot skillet.
  8. Bake for 20 – 30 minutes.
  9. Turn out of hot skillet onto a plate; prop a knife or fork under the edge of the hot cornbread to allow steam to escape.
  10. Serve with butter.
Comments are closed.

