Skip to content

Burn The Brush Pile: Take 1

July 23, 2014

The brush pile left by the removal of trees was unexpectedly large.
If I had realized how big this was going to be I would have worked a better deal with Jesse!

IMG 0896

Duck River Electric says they will not install the power poles and electricity lines until the brush pile is removed. Burning seems the best & most efficient way to accomplish this task…or so I thought!

IMG 0897

Before I start a fire, I must get a water source nearby. All of our old hoses were connected to the new water faucet at the future building site. I added 300 feet of new hoses & still didn’t get down the hill.
Time for a WalMart run to purchase 400 more feet of hose.
I am very grateful for the weights, pulleys, bands & workouts Greg, our marvelous trainer has had me do over the past two years! Just try to untangle garden hoses with weak arms & back muscles!

IMG 0898

I started the fire in 2 places, running back & forth continuing to feed the flames. Praise the Lord the temperatures were below normal & the humidity significantly reduced due to the lovely Canadian air.

IMG 0899

I worked for 6 hours & barely made a dent in the pile. Too much air space to build up enough heat for the fire to feed itself.
Now the leg cramps begin. I drank a full gallon of water while working, but the leg cramps make it almost impossible to walk back to the tractor for the bumpy ride uphill.

IMG 0901

A better plan next time. More water, too!

Comments are closed.

