Skip to content

Gardening From Scratch

April 7, 2015

Before gardening could begin, raised beds had to be built. I found a fabulous supplier of “Royal Soil” who shared his recipe with me. Woo Hoo! I’ll be making my own from now on.

IMG 1105

Remember the ice, snow & cold of winter? So does Lucy. She was wrapped in 2 coats & a towel most of her days in the barn.

IMG 1107

Dear husband dumped tractor bucket loads of the good organic dirt in the areas I had prepared with layers of cardboard & paper grocery bags to minimize weeds/grass from infiltrating the beds, then I spread the dirt over the 8 foot x 4 foot beds.

IMG 1285

9 of them. The one that is set sidewways will be the asparagus bed. I was tired a the end of the day.

IMG 1126

Covered them with heavy plastic drop cloths to prevent weed seeds from finding a new home.

IMG 1115

Comments are closed.

