Skip to content

Possum On The Half-Shell

June 9, 2015

IMG 1453

While DH was bush-hogging the steep sides of a pasture, I walked down the driveway to meet him. There were 3 very long garden hoses we wanted to move from the faucet by the big dogwood tree up to the barn.

IMG 1455

I had never spent much time in this spot, so I took the time to look around, see what trees were on the north side of the driveway, when I heard a rustling at my feet.

IMG 1456

The wind was not blowing that much so my mind instantly jumped to “SNAKE!” Nope! It was a baby armadillo!

IMG 1457

Of course, I didn’t have my camera or my phone with me! A quick walk back up hill to the barn, then very quickly back down hill to the little armored one.

IMG 1458

When I got too close, the pup would dig into the leaves to hide itself. Yes, baby armadillos are called pups. No, I don’t know why.

IMG 1459

It’s skin looked too big, like it had not filled out. The shell of baby armadillos is similar to our fingernails…fairly breakable.

IMG 1460

If I had seen the tail first, I would have been convinced it was a snake. Or a rat! Yuck!

IMG 1461

I could have picked up the little thing, but knowing that this placental mammal carries the bacteria for leprosy in its claws – no thank you!

IMG 1462

DH was wondering why I was taking photos of leaves so he parked the tractor & came over for a look.

IMG 1463

I asked the little thing if its mother knew where it was. It didn’t answer. With urging from DH using a tall weed, pup finally lifted its ugly little head for a photo.

IMG 1464

With all the beautiful creatures the Lord created, I am always surprised at the really unattractive critters He also made. This guy looks kin to a possum, a pig… what else? I don’t know. But I’m sure it is beautiful in the eyes of its armadillo mom & the Lord God its Maker.

One Comment
  1. June 10, 2015 7:39 am

    he is cute and I am not sure what I would have done. it is rare to see them like that. usually they have run off by the time you get back. we have them too. they are VERY destructive. we bought a trap for them caught one and no more. they are very hard to catch. this area is becoming over run with them.

Comments are closed.

