Skip to content

We Have A Garage Floor

July 28, 2015

Returning from a quick trip to Memphis to see “the mothers” we stopped on the way to the apartment to feed Moxie.

The lock that Harry attached to the gate to secure our construction site has failed…for the 2nd time! I had to call Harry when all of a sudden the stupid thing wouldn’t unlock.

This time it didn’t open. DH tried – it didn’t open. I tried about 14 times & it still didn’t open! Sigh. I hate to call Harry on a Sunday afternoon… Sigh, again…

IMG 1563

DH starts walking up the driveway hill to feed Moxie. Lu & I wait in his car at the locked gate for Harry to come to the rescue. We have been in the car for a tough 3 hours – I hate driving on I-40; horrible traffic! Excuse me, but why hasn’t I-40 between Memphis & Nashville been expanded to 3 lanes both ways? More truck traffic than any interstate in the USA! Not to mention idiot left lane riders who obviously never took Drivers Ed which taught, at least when I took it a whole lot of years ago, that the left lane was for passing, slower traffic keeps right! I know the answer, but it’s not politically correct & if I start ranting right now I’ll never stop, won’t sleep…frustration…ARGH!

IMG 1568

Anyway, DH walked up the hill. Lu & I were waiting at the gate for Harry. Having traveled for 3+ hours, Lu needed a potty break. I take her from the backseat of DH’s little car & that’s when yappy dog & her hound counterpart come running at full speed barking like crazy. Stupid dogs. Lu potties & I grab her quickly, toss her into the front seat, close the door & hope Harry arrives soon.

IMG 1566

Which he did. Armed with bolt cutters & some kind of pike, he attacks the lock. Just a little (ton!) of pressure with the pike, the lock opens. Relief! Lu & I drive up to check on DH & Moxie.

IMG 1567

WD40 again & again, the lock still sticks. On our way back down, Harry meets us headed up. The lock has worn out. I get to make a quick trip to Home Depot in the morning to buy a new lock.

What in the world would we do without Harry!

Oh, we have a concrete garage floor & front porch.

One Comment
  1. July 28, 2015 4:22 am

    This is like a piece of your life! Happy to connect! Do check out my writings too, will appreciate your reviews 🙂

Comments are closed.

