Skip to content

Second Potato Crop

November 25, 2015

Fingerling, Blue & Yukon Gold potatoes were harvested by #3 son & DIL when they visited last summer. After they left I dug & searched for more potatoes, just in case we had missed some. We did. Then I top-dressed the garden bed & covered it with mulch.

IMG_2246

A month later, new potato plants emerged in the garden bed. I decided to leave them so we would have new potatoes to enjoy for Thanksgiving. I had no idea how many potatoes would be produced!

IMG_2248

DH & I pulled one plant because he was curious – he had not gotten to harvest back in the summer. We were amazed at the number. I came back 2 days later to finish the job & re-dress the bed for winter. I started digging with my hands, then the trowel, then the hay fork, then the shovel. 3 hours later I had removed all the potatoes I could find, top dressed the bed & drank a bottle of water.

We have almost 10 pounds of potatoes! Wow! No Blues. Fingerlings & Yukon Golds.

2 Comments
  1. Pam permalink
    November 25, 2015 2:33 pm

    Enjoy seeing your Thanksgiving table from days gone by! 😍

  2. Julia permalink
    November 29, 2015 3:03 pm

    That is extremely cool! You are really coming along with your house, Can’t wit to see it!

Comments are closed.

