Skip to content

Skunked!

January 25, 2017
Dixon close-up

Dixon close-up

Returning from exercise early yesterday, DH & I were greeted by an all to familiar odor…& it was coming from the Pyre puppies…

Mason close-up

Mason close-up

& we hadn’t opened the car doors yet. Uh oh!

Mason

Mason

Too many things already on my To-Do list for a Monday, a bath had to be delayed. It also gave me some time to research remedies for skunking.

Dixon

Dixon

The best solution came from my friend Jane:
1. rub them down with baking soda
2. drench them in vinegar
3. bathe with Dawn Dishwashing Liquid
4. rinse with cheap vodka

Beautiful Mason

Beautiful Mason

Sounds like a plan!
Tuesday morning, pups are nowhere to be found & as usual, do not come when they are called. OK, who told them they were getting a bath today?

Sweet Dixon

Precious Dixon

After all my chores & a few extra, after I actually sit down to eat lunch, next time I look pups are asleep on the front porch. Here we go!

Napping

Napping

Leash wrapped around post to the deck stair, Mason runs to me to be petted. Well, he was petted & scrubbed & washed & rinsed. (Except for the vodka. I decided to take a chance.) Cockleburs bite me as I work the various substances through his cotton-soft fur. Praise the Lord for the hot water spigot out back! (Thanks Harry & Carole for the example! It was a lifesaver!) Now time for Dixon. Not as easy, Dix tries to walk under the deck so I have to constantly pull him back to the concrete. Manhandling a 90-lb dog in the wet chill – oh my aching back! This one even has cockleburs on his feet! More work to be done, but not right now.

More work to be done.

More work to be done.

Both received their daily raw turkey neck – yes, I am moving them to a raw diet, which has worked quite well for Lucy for over 16 years – then their raw ground beef with supplements added. Now they are ready to play though still a bit wet. The rougher outer coat is drying quickly. I’m glad tonight will be a bit warmer than last night, though they could always get into the doghouse…

raw turkey neck

raw turkey neck

Oh, the stink? I can still smell it a bit but it is significantly better! (Granted I have an amazing sense of smell, which an allergist told me was a gift. Doesn’t always feel like a gift…especially when folks wear perfume/aftershave nearby. DH has considered renting me out to the local Sheriff’s Department to sniff out small children who have walked away from campsites. He thinks I can rival any Bloodhound.) Maybe I should have used the vodka…or maybe I’ll just go pour myself a cocktail & not worry about it!

Time to play!

Time to play!

Comments are closed.

