Skip to content

I’m Back!

May 4, 2017

I haven’t been able to access my WordPress page for weeks & weeks! Finally stumbled onto the Bookmark in my history, so I’M BACK!

Being that it is Spring, I’ve actually been too busy to write – as I am right now, with a basketful of veggies & strawberries sitting on the counter in front of me.

But I’m going to at least let you know what I’ve been working on this week – a new fenced garden.

It was the fenced puppy yard last year when we brought the Pyres home. It was the chicken yard when the puppies learned to climb the fence. Now it will be the tomato garden, et al, for this summer. Hopefully I will get the raised garden beds enclosed in wooden frames by winter to move the strawberry plants to a more permanent location.

Did you know that large bags of raised-bed garden soil mix weigh about 40 pounds? On Tuesday I put 12 in place & planted the tomato plants. This morning I placed 15 bags & planted jalapeño peppers, cilantro, watermelons, green beans & cantaloupes.

I need at least 10 more bags to be able to plant okra, purple hull peas & white field corn, not sweet corn. So not finished yet.

This minute I am tired but the veggies must be washed – turnip greens, beet greens, Swiss chard, spinach & strawberries. Oh good – just caught a Colorado Potato Beetle climbing on the greens! Yikes! Bad, very bad bug!

Aren’t the purple top turnips pretty?

I forgot to take photos while working today…guess it was those extra 3 bags of soil… Oh well.

I gave the giant beet that has been growing since last Autumn & provided delicious leaves for mixed greens all winter to the hens. Nailed to the wall of the run should keep them occupied a while.

So that’s it! No more procrastinating – gonna wash the basketful…after I feed Lucy!

2 Comments
  1. Cyndy Wright permalink
    May 4, 2017 9:27 am

    Oh my! When do you sleep.

Comments are closed.

