Skip to content

The Goats Have Arrived! Part 1

June 30, 2017

Photo from the Craigslist ad

Craigslist: I have 4 fainting goats we want to sell. One momma nanny has twins every time! 2 one year old Billy’s and a baby girl about 7 months old.

Oh my goodness! Just what I have been looking for!

Our friend Myron is very busy cutting, bailing & hauling hay so his friend’s goats can’t be purchased & delivered until some time after July 4th & besides, they are Boer Goats. But I want goats now! So glad I found the Craigslist ad!

Dear Husband ordered the solar-powered electric fence with charger & placed the charger in the front pasture where we want to start the goats. The pups went with me to place the fence making sure nothing untoward was present. Nope, but a newborn fawn was there. Poor little thing ran when I got near. I hope her mommy found her.

The brand-new 30-gallon water trough is filled…by me hauling 5-gallon jugs of water from the top of the hill, then emptying them into the trough. (I wonder why I have a back spasm right now…Duh!)

A phone call from the seller who has had these goats for about 6 months & treats them almost like pets. They are on the way! Hurry up! A big block of Himalayan salt in a bowl.

A temporary shelter raised. Thunderstorms are possible in the area for the next few days & I don’t want the goats to get wet before they even know that they are home.

Pups are resting. I am excited. Here they come!
to be continued…

Comments are closed.

