Skip to content

Exhausting Days of Summer

July 19, 2017

(Reminder: no color enhancement on any photos.)

Summer is exhausting even without the high-90s temperatures.

Can you see the weight of this morning’s haul? Over 19 pounds!

A typical day:
Awake between 4 – 5 AM.
Semi-recumbernt Bike for 20 – 30 minutes. Lift weights Monday & Wednesdays. (DH & I work out with our trainer on Fridays which is why we are strong enough to do the farm work.)
Let the hens out of the coop. Make sure they have feed, scratch & water.
Pick the 2 gardens & berry bramble weeding the garden as I go most days.
Feed the Pyre pups their raw chicken leg quarter.
Feed Moxie Kitty.
Feed Lucy.

Bread & Butter Pickles

Feed me. Quiet time with my Bible.
Process what has been picked in the garden which means right now washing & slicing cucumbers, washing/sterilizing jars to make pickles; washing tomatoes & jalapeños, washing/sterilizing jars to make salsa or canned tomatoes; either can berries in a light syrup which I have to make or throw them in a freezer bag; slice tomatoes or zucchini for the dehydrator.

My Homemade Salsa.

I try to drink my gallon of water throughout the day because if I don’t I will have horrible leg cramps! I mean HORRIBLE! I may grab something to eat around 2pm for the second & usually last meal of the day.
If Dear Husband is in town, dinner for him is prepared.
If he is not in town, I must feed his goldfish in the little fish pond.

Goats & Pyre Pups

I don’t take time to check on the goats until late afternoon. They get fed & talked to…still not wanting to be touched though Heidi & Peter will allow me to stroke their ears when they are eating.
The pups, Lu & Mox must be fed supper.
The hens may need water & more feed. Time to collect the eggs unless one silly orange-head Sex-Link has decided to lay late in the day, almost at roost time, like she has this week! Silly bird!
Check the dwarf fruit trees in pots; water if needed.
Make sure the garden sprinklers are set.
Come inside & take a shower.
Go upstairs to foam-roll my aching back & legs.
Go downstairs to sit on the deck with the pups until bedtime…which lately has been very late for me: 10pm!
Somewhere in there laundry (there are 3 loads currently on the dining room table not yet folded), grocery shopping (I did that this morning at 6am rather than my quiet time), paying the bills, cleaning the house (not often) & watering house plants comes in…somewhere.
Then start all over again in the morning.

That is Heidi standing on her mother Honey to reach the privet for a bite.

Atypical days also include weed-eating & push-mowing around the garden, moving the hen fence to give them fresh ground to scratch & explore, bush-hogging on the tractor the top of the hill, the front pasture (4 small goats don’t eat enough grass!) & the middle pasture. Soon I must build the new permanent garden beds for the strawberries, a new bed for blueberry bushes…I know I’m forgetting something…

A firm hand on the wheel of the tractor.

Anything added to a day, like choir practice or Bible study or meeting a friend for lunch means the work has to be done at a different time or on a different day (if that’s possible) or that it must be done earlier & faster. I think that’s why I’m exhausted – I’ve tried to do some things this season I don’t usually do & it has kept me running full tilt on & off the farm.

I love my farm life. I’m exhausted & lately a bit testy, but I love my life!

It’s late…almost 10pm & I haven’t had my shower or foam-rolled my back, but I did sit outside with the pups for a bit. Time to stop writing, get off the computer & get ready for bed. Tomorrow is an atypical busy day…

2 Comments
  1. Trish Lingo permalink
    July 19, 2017 7:26 am

    I feel your pain. LOL!

    Love, Trish

    >

    • July 19, 2017 7:40 am

      You feel my pain in Spades, Trish! Stay cool!

Comments are closed.

